Summer Planting

My husband and I live in Cute-As-A-Button, Maine. We don’t exactly live on the water but, if you walk thirty seconds from our house here is what you see:

 Image

We really love living in Maine and I have been planning what to do with our mini garden since we moved into this house.

This has been our garden for the past month [since the snow melted].

 Image

Weeding and organizing this area has been a little bit intimidating. I think the grass from around the corner was attempting to take over and Maine grows rocks, so I knew I had my work cut out for me. I acquired some handy-dandy garden tools.

 Image

They were very useful in chopping away at the tough grass.

Then, once the majority of the weeds were gone we added some compost and mixed it all in nicely.

 Image

At this point I went inside to find a hat and to put on extra sun-screen. It got hot today. Here is my OPC Pride hat:

 Image

I should pause here to say that I have never gardened before. I might have done lots of things wrong. Our dirt turned out to be very clay-ey and I have no idea what that means and was too excited to plant flowers to stop and figure it out. I got miracle grow. That’ll take care of any problems, right? Cuz it makes miracles. Mmhmm. I got really muddy too. Here are my knees.

Image

Then my lovely husband helped me dig the holes for the perennials. I got several different kinds of the perennials. I got sort of grassy ones that [in theory] are ground-covering plants with little flowers. I also got some taller perennials that I put in a row toward the back of the flower bed. I also planted some annuals that I chose according to color. Pink and purple and yellow.

 Image

I watered it all violently with the miracle-grow water and then did some regular water too. Just for luck. We lined up all the rocks that we dug out of the dirt into a nice edging. Didn’t I mention Maine grows rocks? Well, it does. But hopefully flowers too.

Image

And here is the final product! I am so excited to see how it turns out over the next few weeks.

Image

One Reply to “Summer Planting”

Leave a Reply

